Skip to content

The Eagle has Landed

December 19, 2010

I have to confess that Christmas spirit has been slow in arriving to my distracted little heart this year.  The past weeks and months of busy-ness have preempted any contemplation of the deeper nuances of the season, and although I’ve been missing it, I’ve been hard-pressed to find/create/experience the space that’s needed to wander those pathways.

However, sometimes, all it takes is the flick of a switch and, right when you least expect it, the spark is ignited.  That moment came for me listening to CBC Radio 2’s broadcast of EBU’s (European Broadcasting Union) “Joy to the World: an EBU Holiday Celebration” this morning.   Particularly the concert from Oslo, Norway with the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus – they made it really hard for me to get on with my day.  I had every radio blaring in the apartment (much to my neighbour’s annoyance, I’m sure 🙂 ) and kept finding myself on pause as I lost track of whatever I was doing to listen.

It started with the “Jauchzet Frohlocket” (translation: “Rejoice, Be Glad”) opening to Bach’s Christmas Oratorio, and the beauty escalated from there.  And that, my friends, is all it took.

So, I’m happy to say that Christmas has finally firmly perched itself in my awareness.  Not that that means I’m anywhere closer to being ready for it, but at least I don’t feel like a foreigner anymore in this land of seasonal cheer.

Note: I realize that the below video of “Jauchzet Frohlocket” doesn’t stream directly and that you have to link to YouTube to watch it… but this is a fantastic version with the Thomanerchor boys choir.  Worth the extra click, I think.

No comments yet

Leave a comment