Skip to content

It’s an Honour

November 17, 2010

I’m sneaking this quick tidbit of happy news in on my late lunch break:

James Ehnes – Brandon, Manitoba’s Stradivarius-fiddling son – is getting the Order of Canada today!!

With Jimmy widely ranked among the Big Boys of violin world, I don’t know of any true-north-strong-and-free classical music lover who doesn’t hold some measure of pride at being able to claim him as a homeboy.  He’s hotter than hot right now and still isn’t even close to peaking.  I’ll have my own little patriotic flag-waving celebration later while listening to the 3rd movement of his Grammy-winning recording (made with the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra) of Erich Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D Major, but in the meantime will leave you with this short YouTube before my boss comes and wonders what I’m up to…

Here‘s the Order of Canada page for today’s ceremonies in case you’re interested in nit-picky details.

http://www.jamesehnes.com/

Now back to my regularly scheduled pause.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 9:00 am

    don’t you think, on some level, he *always* wonders? What with all the giggles coming from your cubicle at my wit, he has got to be curious as to what goes on in there 🙂 hahah

Leave a Reply

