Skip to content

Two…

September 23, 2010

  The slide into Saturday is picking up speed now.  We’re practically down to counting hours!

I was listening to my next performance pick, Johann Sebastian Bach’s Mass in B Minor, while getting ready this morning.  Probably not the best idea considering how much this work commands my full attention, effectively distracting me from the routine at hand right when I’m under pressure to get out the door on time.   But with a bit of last-minute rushing and some cooperative traffic lights, I thankfully wasn’t too late pulling into the parking lot. 

Mammoth!  Is there any other way to describe the Mass?  Clocking in at almost 2 hours, and consisting of 27 separate choral sections, it has been called “the greatest artwork of all times and all people”.  Oof!  that’s a lot to live up to, but considering it was said about one of Bach’s final compositions, it’s not an unreasonable stretch.  It’s absolutely Baroque choral music at its finest. 

I could spend a lot of space dissecting what makes this work so amazing, but Wiki and baroquemusic.org have decent overviews if you want to read up on it more.

I get the feeling that once the lights dim on this concert I’m going to be in another world.  If the CD already transports me, what will a live performance do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 2:48 pm

    …were you really awake for 2 actual hours before work!? This morning, I was up a full 10 minutes before I left the house. Count ’em: 10. I look and feel about as classy as you might expect I would on a morning like that. Perhaps I should employ your method of classical in the AM? You always look classy. Hmm.

    • September 25, 2010 8:54 am

      Like I’d get up 2 hours before work! The class comes naturally… 😉

Leave a Reply

