Skip to content

Three…

September 22, 2010

The countdown continues with only 3 more days till my symphony season starts!!  That’s so close I could almost hold my breath from now until the opening note and still not pass out.

Here’s another piece I’m looking forward to in the 2010/2011 season.  It’s not one I really know, but the anticipation of hearing something so new to my ears has me hopping from foot to foot.  The piece is the Dr. Atomic Symphony, John Adams’s 2007 adaptation of the Dr. Atomic opera he premiered a couple of years earlier.

Coles notes:  The story revolves around the tensions and anxieties experienced by those close to the invention of the atomic bomb in the final hours before its detonation at the Alamogordo test site in New Mexico, July 16th, 1945.

It’s an intense, tragic opera.  A pivotal point in history dramatized.  I don’t fully know what to expect from the symphonic translation, but I assume that in the 25-or-so minutes that it runs it will compact all the emotions covered in the opera into an equally dark painting of the nuclear landscape of that one day.  I think we’re in for a ride.

The below video deals with the opera, not the symphony, but it gives an interesting look at where John Adams was coming from creatively, as well as giving a cue as to what the symphony will be saying.

http://www.earbox.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

