Skip to content

Four…

September 21, 2010

In the course of my semi-short lifetime there have been more than a few musicians I’ve had serious audio crushes on.  Maybe a handful that I’ve had the typical celebrity starry-eyed crush on.  But only one I can think of that I would willingly spend lots of money on planes, hotels and tickets to see in performance anywhere in the world (if I had the money, that is.  Note to self: get sugar daddy).  But since that kind of fanciful adventure lives only in my sonicgypsy dreams, the next best thing is when the object of my aural affections comes to me.

I’ve gotten to see Marc-André Hamelin in concert 3 times now.  And this symphony season will mark my 4th.  While he probably won’t ever rank as high on the swoon-o-meter as, say, Patrick Dempsey or Bradley Cooper or Matt McConaughey (*delicious sighs in triplicate*), the man could play me the alphabet and I’d get goose-shivers down my spine.  But instead, he thrills our collective ears one better and goes for the kind of music that causes heart-attacks in lesser artists – like pieces by Leopold Godowsky, Charles-Valentin Alkan, and Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (or his own compositions for that matter) – and makes them all sound like a frolic on the beach.

This season he and my symphony will be attacking a Mozart piano concerto, a test of musicianship for even the most seasoned performer, because Mozart’s deceptive simplicity leaves nothing to hide behind.  No dazzling virtuosic sequences.  No deafening chordal thunder.  Just pure perfection.  I’m thinking Marc-André will do fine.  He doesn’t make it onto lists year after year after year of the most critically respected pianists alive without a reason.  Here’s some proof for your ears:

http://www.marcandrehamelin.com/

PS.  I can’t open YouTube these days without promo for Lang Lang’s new “Live in Vienna” album sitting pretty in the top corner.  Is that just cause the internet spies know I have a weakness for classical based on my views, or is everyone getting it??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 2:51 pm

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/technology/article771394.ece

    there you go: inspiration & a go-to 🙂

    • September 25, 2010 9:20 am

      Awww, thanks for always looking out for me. When I find a man who’ll wantonly throw his millions at me, I’ll take you out for a coffee, just to show you how deep my appreciation flows.

Leave a Reply

