Skip to content

Sonic Summer Selections

June 16, 2010

  In a matter of hours I’ll be flying out for my long-awaited vacation, and the usual pre-trip nervous excitement is making sleep an impossibility right now.  I suppose I could try and count sheep, but nah.  So, what more productive way to distract my nerves than by adding a quick, last-minute post?

I was realizing earlier that while most of my packing was done in about 45 minutes tonight (with fingers crossed that I’m not forgetting anything essential), I’ve spent weeks thinking about what music I would be bringing along, mentally reorganizing my playlists, keeping notes of any changes on dozens of scraps of paper stuffed into various pockets.  With my iPod only big enough to hold a measly 2GB (I know, it’s time for a new one) it takes some roided up creativity to make sure that whatever I bring is going to sustain me through many hours of flights, bumpy bus rides, and lazy beach time.  So, after much deliberation and some painful eliminations, this is the classical music that I’ve decided I can’t happily live without for the next 2 weeks.  Drum roll please…

Ólafur Arnalds – Found Songs
Bach Goldberg Variations – Glenn Gould (1955)
Beethoven Symphony No. 9 – Herbert von Karajan and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Brahms Violin Concerto in D – Itzhak Perlman, with Daniel Barenboim and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Elgar Cello Concerto in E Minor, op. 85 – Jacqueline du Pré, with Sir John Barbirolli and the London Symphony Orchestra
Philip Glass – Glassworks
Jóhann Jóhannsson – Fordlandia
Jóhann Jóhannsson
– IBM 1401
Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3 – Martha Argerich, with Claudio Abbado and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Rachmaninov Vespers – Yevhen Savchuk and the Dumka National Academic Choir Of Ukraine
Steve Reich – Music for 18 Musicians
Schoenberg Violin Concerto – Hilary Hahn, with Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D – Jasha Heifetz, with Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

I have to confess that the Schoenberg is my “brussel sprout” inclusion of the lot – not particularly pleasing to my palate, but I should try it anyway (cause vacations can’t be all fanceries and fluff.  Can they??).  I hear your concern that Arnold and I are starting our relationship by going on vacation together – it is a big step – but I figure I might as well jump in the deep end and hopefully, by spending some uninterrupted one-on-one time, he and I might come to at least a cordial understanding.  Maybe?…  Someday?…  I’ll let you know.

Otherwise, the rest of my playlist choices are old friends.  (Gee, I hope Arnold doesn’t feel left out.)  It’s a bit of everything to cater to any musical whim that might arise, or any moment that might need a soundtrack.  I think I’m set.

Four hours till my alarm goes off.  So much for a restful night’s sleep…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

